Computer ◆ Conservation ◆ Society

Events

The Society organises a regular programme of talks and seminars between September and May each year. Our meetings are held in Manchester and in London.

  • Manchester meetings are organised by the North West Group of the CCS. The lectures are normally held in the conference room at the Royal Northern College of Music starting at 17:30. (Room open from 17:00.).
  • BCS Clock

    London Lectures take place at the BCS London building in Southampton Street, Covent Garden. Lectures start at 14:30 but many members are in the delightful habit of coming early from 14:00 for informal discussions beforehand.

    Southampton Street is immediately south of Covent Garden Market. Look for this ornate clock above the door to find the entrance.

    Please note that the BCS operates a system of pre-registration for meetings at Southampton Street. It is not essential to pre-register, but registration on the day is likely to be moderately time-consuming and is therefore not advised. In the event that the event is oversubscribed, preference will be given to attendees who have already registered.

    You may pre-register using the booking links () below.

London Events
Date     Event Title   Speakers

Thu 15th March 2018
Founding of the Numerical Algorithms Group (NAG), its Early Days and its Rôle Today   Brian Ford and colleagues

Thu 19th April 2018
Constructing the EDSAC Replica - Lessons Learned   Andrew Herbert

Thu 17th May 2018
Programmed Inequality   Marie Hicks

Please note that London seminars are usually recorded and may be made available on the World Wide Web.
Manchester Events
Date     Event Title   Speakers

Tue 20th February 2018
EMIDEC and its Software   Dave Parsons

Tue 20th March 2018
Restoring the 2966   Delwyn Holroyd

Tue 18th September 2018
To be announced (provisional date)  

Tue 16th October 2018
To be announced (provisional date)  

Tue 20th November 2018
To be announced (provisional date)  

Tue 15th January 2019
To be announced (provisional date)  

Tue 19th February 2019
To be announced (provisional date)  

Tue 19th March 2019
To be announced (provisional date)